---
title: "Allow Users to Unsubscribe from Preferences"
slug: "manage-consent-preferences-with-email-builder"
updated: 2026-06-08T21:24:50Z
published: 2026-06-08T21:24:50Z
canonical: "docs.xtremepush.com/manage-consent-preferences-with-email-builder"
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.xtremepush.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Allow Users to Unsubscribe from Preferences

Add unsubscription options to your email campaigns using the email builder

With the email builder, you can provide your users with the option to unsubscribe from a specific preference or from your global email subscription. To enable this functionality, ensure ensure that consent management is enabled on your project and a consent preference is configured in the **Setup** tab of your campaign.

## Add unsubscription links to email message

First, add a **Text**, **Paragraph**, or **Title** content element in your email builder. When you create or edit the text, go to **Special Links** and then **Links** to add either of the following unsubscription options:

- **Unsubscribe**: If your user clicks **Unsubscribe**, they are unsubscribed only from the specific consent preference associated with the campaign.
- **Unsubscribe from all**: If your user clicks **Unsubscribe from all**, they are unsubscribed from the global email subscription.

> [!WARNING]
> Consent Management Configuration Impacts Unsubscription Options
> 
> If consent management is enabled on your project, but a consent preference is not configured in your campaign, only the **Unsubscribe from all** is displayed.
> 
> If consent management is not enabled on your project, only the **Unsubscribe** option is displayed. The unsubscribe option only allows users to unsubscribe from the global email subscription.
> 
> See the next section *Differences in unsubscribe link functionality*, for more information on the differences in the unsubscription options.

## Differences in unsubscribe link functionality

The unsubscription options and the changes in user preferences differ based on your consent management and consent preference configurations:

- Consent management is enabled in your project and consent preference is configured in the campaign

Clicking the **Unsubscribe** link allows the user to unsubscribe only from the specific consent preference associated with the campaign. Clicking the **Unsubscribe from all** link unsubscribes the user from the global email subscription. All email communications are disabled, regardless of preferences.

- Consent management is enabled in your project but consent preference is not configured in the campaign

Clicking the **Unsubscribe from all** link unsubscribes the user from the global email subscription. All email communications are disabled, regardless of preferences.

- Consent management is disabled

Clicking the **Unsubscribe** link unsubscribes the user from the global email subscription. All email communications are disabled, regardless of preferences.
