Azure Active Directory

Automatically synchronise your users and groups from Azure Active Directory

Syncing your Active Directory Users and Groups will allow you to send email campaigns using your Exchange Distribution List. You can also use user attributes stored in Active Directory to segment and personalise campaigns.

To enable the use of Active Directory user attributes, custom profile attributes must be defined for your Xtremepush project in advance. Active Directory user attributes synced to Xtremepush that do not have corresponding Xtremepush profile attributes defined will be ignored.

Create a connection to Azure Active Directory

Select the Active Directory card in the Integrations marketplace tab and click Connect.

Basic setting

Give your connection a Name that helps you easily identify it.

Connection settings

Retrieve the Tenant ID, Client ID, and Client Secret from your Azure Active Directory account and enter into each field.

Sync settings

Use the sliders to toggle the synchronisation settings you want to use.

If Mirror sync is toggled on, the integration will run a cleanup script after the latest sync has completed. The script will identify existing profiles or lists in the XP platform that were not included in the latest Active Directory User or Groups data and delete them. Use this option if you only want users that are also present in your Azure Active Directory to exist on the Xtremepush platform.

❗️

Once the data has been deleted it cannot be recovered.

If Whitelist users is toggled on you can sync a specified list of users only. Input the email addresses of the users that you want to sync, separate each email with a new line.

If *Whitelist Groups is toggled on you can sync a specified list of groups only. Input the Group IDs that you want to sync, separate each Group ID with a new line.

Once you have added all relevant details for the Connection settings and configured the Sync settings, click Connect.

Synchronise users and groups

When you synchronise data between Azure Active Directory and Xtremepush, depending on the settings you entered in Sync settings, the user and groups data will be imported to the platform.

Updates less than 24 hours old will be included in the following synchronisation.

If you require automatic scheduled synchronisations to take place, contact your Xtremepush account manager.

Note that only one sync task can be running at any time. To check the status of sync tasks go to Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations and select your integration. On the Overview tab you will find a list of the Sync history showing the status of each sync task.

Manual sync

On the Overview tab for your integration found at Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations, click the Actions button. You will be able to choose three different options that will start a manual sync task.

Sync will start a sync task that includes both your user data and group lists. You will be able to select Mirror, Whitelist users, or Whitelist groups before starting the sync.

Sync Users will only sync your user data. You will be able to select Mirror or Whitelist users before starting the sync.

Sync Lists will only sync your group lists. You will be able to select Whitelist users before starting the sync. It is not possible to select Mirror for this option as if no groups are whitelisted the default behaviour is to perform a Mirror sync. If any groups are whitelisted the sync process will fetch the whitelisted groups, but not delete any missing groups.

Click Start sync.

Check task status

When the sync processes have started you will be taken to the Task group page in the Task history page where you can see the status of any onboarding synchronisation.

To check the sync task history go to Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations and select your integration. On the Overview tab you will find a list of the Sync history showing the status of each sync task.

Download details from a completed sync

The Task details page provides further information for the selected sync, such as processed records, newly created users/lists, updated users/lists, and deleted users/lists.

Select the integration at Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations. Find the sync task in the Sync history table and click the Details button to open the Task details page.

Click the Download button to download a CSV file of the data from that sync task.

Create an additional connection

To create an additional Azure Active Directory connection, select the Azure Active Directory card in the Integrations Marketplace tab found at Settings > Integrations > Marketplace. Click Connect New and repeat the integration steps outlined in the above section.

You should only have one Active connection at any given time to avoid any potential clashes with sync processes.

Update an existing connection

Select the integration you want to update at Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations. Go to the Settings tab and update any setting necessary, click Save to confirm.

Deactivate or delete a connection

Select the integration you want to update at Settings > Integrations > Marketplace > Configured Integrations. Go to the Settings tab and click the Actions button. You will be presented with the option to either Deactivate or Delete the integration. Clicking either of them opens a confirmation dialog.

Updated 5 months ago


Azure Active Directory


Automatically synchronise your users and groups from Azure Active Directory

Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.